Where I store my Makeup/How it’s set up

Hi, everyone!
One of my favourite kinds of videos to watch on YouTube are the ones where they take you on a tour of their beauty room. It’s less about the products they show, but how they’ve decorated everything to suit their style, and the furniture they use, so today I thought I’d make this post on how organise my collection
I only recently purchased the majority of thing in this post (I bought and set up everything on Monday, and it’s now Thursday) so it may not stay the way it is. There are a lot of things that I want to add to my desk to stop it looking so stark and boring, and I’m planning on buying some proper acrylic dividers for my draws, because everything is just kind of semi-organised in each draw
Anyway, I hope you guys enjoy!

IMG_6373
This is my entire desk area that you can see when you’re standing on the bed (this room also doubles as a spare bedroom, but we don’t often have people stay over so essentially, I can do whatever I want with this room). Please excuse the awkward mirror shot of my legs, it was unavoidable
As you’ve probably guessed, I got these at IKEA! These are the Alex draws, the Linnoman desktop and the Stave mirror. Josh put everything together for me, because I would probably stuff it all up if I tried anything this complicated, so it was safer for him to do it all for me, although I did help by screwing things in and sorting the pieces out

IMG_6375
This is what I look at when I’m on the chair facing the mirror. These brush holders are also from IKEA and I bought two different sets of the rock things and mixed them together to get the Black and Silver because I thought it looked really pretty

IMG_6378  IMG_6377  IMG_6379
Close ups of my brushes, in the order that I have them sitting on my desk
These currently sit so close to the mirror because it’s not actually stuck down with anything right now. Josh wants to put some Brackets at the back and bolt it to the desk to reduce the risk of it falling and breaking everywhere, but the ones we originally bought were too wide and I refused to have them because you’d be able to see them to the sides of the mirror, and I wasn’t okay with that haha

IMG_6380
This is where I store most of my lip products, to the left of where I sit. I love this tower so much, but I don’t love how much I had to pay for it to get it to Australia (I believe it was about $160AUD on Amazon – and it was going to be even more if I bought it direct from the website), however, I will probably get another one because my lip product collection is ever growing
IMG_6381
This is to the right of my desk, and it’s some more lip products in just some acrylic organisers because they don’t fit in my tower (big shocker). I also have the bluetooth speaker here so that I can listen to music in decent quality when I’m doing my makeup, because who doesn’t love music?

IMG_6382
First, I’ll be going over what’s in my left Alex draw.

IMG_6383
This top draw is where I keep my foundations, concealers, primers, setting powders and setting sprays, as well as some random samples I get from Mecca when I make my orders
As you can see, it took me a while to figure out my undertone – I originally got matched to MAC Studio Fix Fluid in NC15, but I felt that it was too yellow. I then went for some more pink-based foundations like my Chi Chi Fabulous and Flawless in Number 2 – Fair, but this made me ORANGE. For a while I mixed my Studio Fix and Chi Chi foundation and it was a pretty great match, but that still didn’t convince me! I then realised through NikkieTutorials on YouTube that she had the same skin tone as me, and this happened when she said in a video that Studio Fix Fluid in NC15 was too yellow for her. Basically, it turns out that I have Neutral undertones (who knew, right?) and so I’ve begun buying foundations that properly matched me! So now I have NARS Sheer Glow in Siberia and it’s perfection. Anyway, that’s what’s in my first draw
IMG_6384
Next, we have my collection of Blushersm Highlighters and Bronzers, as well as my small collection of brow products (which I now need a new one because my hair no longer matches my brows because I dyed it – something I failed to realise) as well as my contour kits. I was going to keep my contour kits in the top draws as I set my undereye area with the shades from them, but I also contour, bronze and highlight with them so they live here for now

IMG_6385
This next draw is my baby. Here, my palettes live and it’s glorious. My obsession in makeup is lipstick and eyeshadow palettes. Single eyeshadows are pretty great as well, but I like being able to put them in a Z-Palette, and I really dislike when they come in a compact, so I don’t purchase those anymore

IMG_6392
Next, we’re moving over to the right side (these pictures probably unnecessary but it’s fine)

IMG_6386
Firstly, we have my eyeliners, lip liners, mascara and my teeth whitening pens. I really want something better to organise these, preferably something that sits upright, but I don’t know what. Any ideas?

IMG_6387
This next draw is my compact single eyeshadows and my pigments. These shadows never get used because I find them to be such a hassle. Palettes are just so much easier

IMG_6389
A few months ago, this draw would’ve been so much more exciting, but I gave away about 95% of my nail polish because I never ever used it. With my job, I’m not supposed to have nail polish, nail art or false nails on (y’know, bacteria growth and all that jazz) so there was really no point. 6 of these are actually brand new because I fell in love with the formula, and now when I’m on my days off, I’ll have them painted. Right now I have an emerald green on all my nails except my ring finger where there’s this beautiful silver (it’s supposed to have purple in there, but to me it looks silver on the nails) and I feel as though I’m betraying my Gryffindor roots by rocking Slytherin nails. To be real, though, I don’t have a gold nail polish to go with my red, so that’s on my shopping list next

IMG_6390
Next we have my skincare draw. In here, I have my Micellar water, cleansers, facial masks, body wash, moisturisers, hair masks, hair oils and cotton pads as well as a spare body wash because the one in my shower is nearly out.

IMG_6391
Last but not least, we have my hair draw. This is where I keep my hairdryer, a brush (I keep two others in the bathroom), straightener, heat protector glove, curling irons, hair clips and my headband that I use to keep my hair out of my face when I’m applying makeup

So that’s my makeup collection and how I store it currently
If anyone has any ideas on how I can divide up my draws to make things neater and more accessible, please leave a comment! I’d love to know because at the moment, this is what I’m dealing with and it looks like a hot mess.
Some of these draws look so sad and empty, but I will be filling them up with different things soon
If you have any recommendations for anything, please let me know in the comment section, because I’d love to know what things I should have in my collection
Similarly, if there are any of my products you guys want a closer look at anything, let me know (I’d be happy to do lip swatches if that’s the sort of thing you guys are interested in), but just leave a comment and I’ll do my best

I know I say this every time, but I’m really going to try to be posting more often.
I recently got a new job that’s more stable than what I was doing before, and I have permanent hours and permanent days off so I have a more stable schedule now
I’m thinking of starting a YouTube channel as well, so please let me know the things you’d like me to do

A big thanks to Mei from meiplusone who encourages me constantly with this blog. She told me that she’s here weekly looking for new posts from me to read. If you guys haven’t heard of her, you should head on over and take a look at her blog. She’s adorable and I love her blog so much. She’s the reason this blog exists so go and give her some love!

As usual, all products were purchased by me, with my own money
Pictures photographed using Canon EOS 1100D Camera in natural lightning

Thanks for reading!
Much love, Caitlin xo

2 thoughts on “Where I store my Makeup/How it’s set up

  1. Absolutely LOVE IT!! Your lipstick tower holder looks so pretty 😍 For the drawers you’re not too sure how you could divide, you could use those blue Bella boxes. I use the tops and the bottoms of them to divide my skincare things lol. And with your eyeliners/lipliners, maybe you could get another brush container and stick them in there. Thanks for recomending my blog by the way!! 😀 xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

